• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drop Brackets vs. Adjustable CA's

js_customs

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, so I'm adding onto my lift on my 88 xj soon, which should put me up to about 4". I have a 3" kit on it but it sagged (I was dumb and went with the AAL, so it's my fault). I know that I'll either need control arms or drop brackets since I'm currently on stock arms. However, I'm a broke college student so I can't afford anything really expensive. I was looking at the Rough Country adjustable arms or the Rough Country drop brackets. I searched and both seemed to be ok for me.

I only do mild trails and some mud, no crazy rock crawling or anything, although i'd like to get up to Rausch Creek soon. I'm just wondering which will be better for me. Also, would adjustable upper arms be necessary for 4" of lift?

Drop Brackets aren't really called for below 4" lift, as that's the point where you really start feeling the need for them. Control arms are a different matter, as they don't affect the axle position (when installed correctly).

Read http://www.yuccaman.com/jeep/re_db.html for more info on the RE Drop Brackets and why they work.

Jim www.yuccaman.com

Thanks, that gave me a lot of info on the drop brackets..So you're recommending the drop brackets instead of the adjustable arms? Sorry if I'm asking dumb questions, I was just a little confused.