• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

weak points of the 4.0?

rockshox

NAXJA Forum User
Im new to jeeps and I just picked up an 88 xj with 180k miles. Its got a 6.5" lift on 35s. Im considering replacing the motor with a reman engine for reliability concerns and Im wondering what mods I should consider beyond a stock rebuild. I dont plan on doing much hardcore crawling more like exploring the deserts of california and nevada. I was thinking arp fasteners and a high volume oil pump. I already ordered m.o.r.e. motor mounts. what else do I need to be aware of on this motor. thanks!

180k is nothing on this motor. I had one go 250k, and it only quit cause I hydroed it. The one I just bought has 208k on it and it runs without a tick.

If you are rebuilding it and dont want to swap to the HO, I would at least move to the HO head and intake/exhaust manifolds The high volume oil pump will require you to clearance the oil pan for it to fit. Search for "stroker" If you want to make a beast of a motor.

if this thread goes anywhere, be advised that no fewer than 4 people will post telling you to search, and that will be all they post. Keeps up the high falutin attitude while adding to your post count

Ive been reading but its hard to search on such a general question.

I can clearance the oil pan, I have a large hammer. And a stroker is out of the question.

If I want to go with the HO motor I just need new intake and exhaust manifolds and tb but otherwise I can use the renix ecu, flexplate, etc? Should I get an 88 block with the HO head or does it not matter? Is the HO just as reliable and torquey?