• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Grease Section of front Driveshaft.

Muad'Dib

NAXJA Forum User
Grease Section of front Driveshaft. and popping sound.

Sorry i dont have any pics right now as im at work, and i dont feel like going out there to get some with my camera phone. I can provide them in about an hour and a half when i get home if need be.

Stock height 90 XJ 4.0 NP231 dana 30F/35R.

My question is this:

The front driveshaft on my XJ has a zerk fitting on a "ring" that is for the slip-joint (sorry im a drivetrain newb).

I remember awhile back that i went to grease it, and the fitting came loose. I was able to get by with just holding it tight, and greasing it again, but if i grease it more it will come loose again. Last time i looked (the other day) it hasnt moved...
How can i fix this? Get a front drive shaft at the junkyard?

Thanks

EDIT:

The biggest reason why im looking into fixing this is because right now when braking, i get a small "popping" sound that seems to be right below me towards the engine bay. I only hear it when braking, and not every single time i brake. So im trying to fix something that "could" be causing it.. although i doubt its that. Any ideas what the popping sound could be also?

Thanks again!

Last edited:
Ok i know my explanation skills suck most of the time .. so anyway here is a clear pic of what im talking about:
20hv62f.jpg

Its not from my Jeep, just found it searching around.

it's just a rubber boot to keep the grease in.
if the shaft doesn't wobble side to side at the slip I wouldn't worry about it.

the popping noise under braking is morelikely control arm bushings, or the trackbar mount.
do you feel it in the floor?
if so I would be worn out control arm bushings.

87manche said:
it's just a rubber boot to keep the grease in.