• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

1989 XJ for $650 - Need Thoughts Please

MischiefMan

NAXJA Forum User
OK...as any of you who have read my posts know, I am having issues with my '86. Well, today I stumbled across an ad for an '89 2 door for $650. I didn't think to ask what tranny was in it, but it does have the 4.0L. The interior is basically gone and driver's side door and front fender are "pretty beat up." The guy said it does run and is drivable, but it hasn't been licensed or inspected in over a year. He bought it for strickly offroad use. I haven't gone to look at it, so that's basically all the info I have.

I'm concerned that I'll end up with something else that is another project. I'm a poor college student trying to survive so money isn't in abundance. :laugh3:

What should I be looking for when I go look at this thing? The damage to the door and fender concerns me.

Like I said last night. 2+2= one bad XJ!

isnt the 86 immune now for emissions? 21 year rule I think it was? If that is the case mix the two jeeps and use all the laws from '86 with the 89 gear.

He atleast our Jeeps can go out drinking w/ us.

If you can't afford to fix the one you have now or, don't know how to fix the one you have...why buy another one that you won't be able to fix? ;)

Yano Dirt, I don't think you ever responded to my question about whether you've ever owned a 2.8L or if you just repeat other trash others say.

As for being able to fix them, ability isn't the issue. Putting good money out for bad is an issue with me however.

Not being able to do work and determine if I've fixed the problem without having to pay $39.75 every two trips to the emissions inspector get very old very fast!

1986XJIan said: