• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to the Jeep World; Sorry kinda long!

NewToJeeps

NAXJA Forum User
Hey everybody,

As you can probably tell from my username I am pretty new to jeeps -- and SUV's for that matter.

I've only owned sports cars in the past and one '88 Toyota pickup, which ran out of steam at 320k miles; loved it.

I currently own an '04 Ford Focus SVT with all the goodies that I'm trying to sell. I love the car, but I think the lifestyle (wanna let my dog ride around with me too) is changing and plus, after I drove my first XJ about an month ago, I think I've fallen in love all over again, so here I am -- in the market for an XJ.

I've probably test driven about 8 of them so far and I think I might have found a good one. Seems pretty good to me: 1999 Sport which is pretty bare bones except for having cruise -- it's the one option that I prefer to have since I always use it on freeway. I've also been reading up and doing some homework using the "search" feature on here and it's helped answer a lot of my questions. My only fear is that I'm still learning quite a bit about these XJ's and do not know many of the technical aspects such as 29 splines and such. At this stage I would just like a solid platform and a nice clean, stock example.

This truck seems to be very inside and out, and I've checked KBB for my area; it's priced about $800.00 below. With 105k miles on it and two owners on the CARFAX, which seems to check out O.K., is this a good buy? Interestingly enough, the carfax report displays "vehicle serviced - oil changed" approximately every 3k most of the truck's life...