• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New owner of 88 XJ has a few questions

Jim 88 XJ

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to the XJ and its' oddities. I have been researching this site learning a lot but one item I have been trying figure out ( hard to search for it if you do not know what it is) is the short snubber looking shock within the front coil springs.

1) What is it, do I need it, what's it called, if I lift my jeep, what do I do with it?

I live in Texas on the coast and intend to surf fish along the National Seashore ( South Padre Is.) The run can be 50 miles in and 50 miles out if you make the entire trip, most of it is in really deep sand.

2) It's pure sand so I'm thinking BFG 31X10.5 AT tires should be fine (pressure 15 psi)?

3) Do I need to modify the cooling system to handle the high summer temps, deep sand and the long run? I'm thinking heavy duty open loop system etc.

I have many more questions and I am using the search function as much as possible.

the only thing inside the front coils is the bump stop, it limits how far the front axle can travel upwards to keep the tries from hitting the fenderwells, and the axle from hitting the oilpan. most decent lift kits will come with a spacer that bolts into the bottom of the coil bucket to limit uptravel further when you lift, assuming that you are running larger tires.

31x10.50 is a decent size for a sand tire. is the sand you are driving through soft or hard packed? an all terrain tire would do well in hard packed sand at 15 PSI, 10 PSI if the sand is loose and soft. what you want in the sand is a large footprint. you want the tire to be as wide as possible. with a wide tire like a 10.50 you are going to need to get rims with adequate backspacing so the tire does not rub the lower control arm. most people run 3.5 to 3.75" backspace.