• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

4.56 gears, big problem.

zombiexj

NAXJA Forum User
ok so i got a set of 4.56 gears, have a chryco 8.25, and a dana 30. the problem i am having is now that i have the new ring gear on the carrier, i cant get the slide pin out because it runs into the teath on the ring gear. i need to take the pin out obiviously because i need to put my c-clips back in. does anyone have any suggestions as to what i can do? has anyone ever run into this problem? am i just being an idiot because this is my first time? please help!!

:wow:

In the instructions form yukon it states that one toth might need to be ground down in order to instal pin . Check Yukon's web site , it is listed in there under instal instructions

I have 4.56 in my 8.25 and I just ground down the 3 teeth that are in the way just enough so I could manover the pin in and out.

That's so ghetto to have to grind the teeth down to remove/install the pin. :dunce:

JJacobs said:
If you keep it in mind when installing the ring gear, you can usually bolt the ring on in such a way that you only have to grind one tooth.

There isn't any way to orient the ring gear so you can fit the pin in between 2 teeth? (never done this specific install, didn't have to do any grinding putting 3.73's in my 8.8 rear on my mustang)

No- you're always going to have to grind a little bit somewhere, but you can minimize it.

It's no big deal to the gearset because of the way hypoid gears engage- just part of the fun w/ 8.25's.

sunburned said: