• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

question..98 vs 99

01sesedan

NAXJA Forum User
Sorry for asking this question.... You guys are probably tired of answer this over and over. I'm new at this and would like to get you feedback...

I was close to buying a 99 XJ, 5 speed, 6cyl, 4x4, 88,000 miles, RE 5.5", 33" bfg's, 4.56 gears, locker, rear tire carrier and some other stuff, for $5000 , another buyer beat me to it, really sucks.... Now I have to find a stock xj and mod from scratch (guess that's the fun of it).

I found an stock 98 for about $3500, all stock, Auto, 6cyl, 4x4... What are you thoughts, is the 98 comparable to the 99? After searching for week, I got caught up with posts indicating the 99 was the best year but I'm not sure exactly why. Will the 98 be just as good? Is there specific things I would have to look for?

Hope to see it today and report back....

I'll continue searching but the person that has it for sale is looking to get rid of it very soon and was hoping to get some feedback from you guys....

I'm still not clear as to which is better auto or manual. Is it just preference? Will the auto last for a long time with routine maintenance? Do I have to worry about rebuilding it often? Since I'm in Florida, everything's flat and I would use it most for mudding, not many places that I know of with rocks. Would like to visit Ocala and other places through out the state.

Thanks in advance for you feedback....

where in fl? auto supposed to be "bullitproof" mine had 300,000 miles and still going fine but the torque conv. wouldnt lockup so had a reman one put in

I prefer the auto for wheeling, but thats just me.