• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

high mileage auto transmission flush

massscene

NAXJA Forum User
I have been working in the car repair business for 5 years now and have personally dealt with vehicles that drive in the shop and have to be pushed out. It has happened on some older vehicles with high mileage. We attempt a BG Automatic transmission flush. After the flush the car no longer drives and needs a transmission. It seems that the gunk in the transmission was actually holding it together and once removed the clutches inside loose there friction. I have never had this happen to a jeep transmission.

So my question is- Has any one with a 100k+ cherokee with aw4 ever performed a transmission flush (not just a drain and fill) . My xj has 149k and I would like to keep it running driving and shifting good with proper maintenance but not at the cost of destroying my transmission in the process.

Yes, I've done a flush on mine....2000XJ w/ 140k+ on the ticker....

its kind of hypocritical - you want to do a flush, which is MEANT to only do good to your tranny - yet, you dont want it to "destroy" your transmission - if you do a flush, and your tranny gets jacked up, that means it was just jacked up to begin with

personally, i'd feel better about having a new/rebuilt tranny rather than one held together by sludgy fluid...

its along the same lines as saying "dont switch to synthetic if you have high miles, because it will make your engine leak"

fix the REAL problem and dont blame the fluid....

LOL I agree completlely. However a tranny held together with grime is better than doing the flush and not being able to drive untill I save for a tranny rebuild now isnt it?