• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

?moving shock perches d44 rear

2lazy2p

NAXJA Forum User
Other than clearance, are there other advantages or problems with moving the shock perches on a d44 rear end. I am almost through with rebuilding a d44, re-gearing, replacing drum brakes with discs, I've seen recommendations to "move the shock perches while your at it" and have seen M.O.R.E's perches (weld on). I'm not a mechanic, I am doing a lot of things to this machine that I've never tackeled before and am having fun venturing out. I guess I am sort of a mechanic, I fix biological things ie people ;). Should I move these perches?, why ( other than moore room under the axle ) what experience have you had doing it and what products have worked. ...... thanks again Cal.... the brake swap works well.....

I considered moving the lower shock mounts on the D44 I swapped into the XJ, but decided to just gusset the bottoms with 3/16 plate, wrapping an inch or so up the sides as well. I didn't want to have concerns with bottoming out the shocks at full stuff, but ended up having to build pretty tall bump stops on the u-bolt plate anyhow, so it's not the concern I thought it would be. I may end up raising the mounts in the end, I'll see if it becomes a concern on the trail. So far, it's not an issue.

Other than the difference in shock length, the other thing I would be concerned with is rotating them a bit to alleviate the angle that the shock bushing is at on the stud. It's pretty angled as is with the axle pinion rotated up, and a straighter shot pushing that bushing on the stud would be good.