• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2wd to 4wd Questions

winchster

NAXJA Forum User
Hi, I'm new and I've got a couple of questions. I am about to begin the process of changing my '94 2wd to a 4wd. I'm know a lot of you will tell me this is ridiculous but I'm capable and I'm pretty sure it won't be too hard. My goal is to build a reliable, solid 4wd that will never go rock crawling, but might have to dig me out of hip deep clay.
My questions are these:
I'm new to 4wd and I'm concerned about the "strength" questions on the stock D30. Since I'm starting from scratch anything I need to "upgrade"? My wheelin will be work related not play related and I don't ever plan on rock crawling. Also, can I use the pieces from any year or do I need to stay away from something.
Next, transfer cases, stock or upgrade? Any advice given will be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, the newb.

P.S. If it helps, I intend to run 31's and a 3 or 3.5 lift

Last edited:
Since I can't seem to edit this post, I'll reply to my own. Does this post need to be moved to another forum or am I in the right place?

Need more info....what eng/trans?
No problem with the D30.

Well your going to need a 4WD trans,for a tranfer case Id just go with a 231!