• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Can stealership charge above MSRP?

furrymcmonst

NAXJA Forum User
My local Jeep dealership here in Monroe, WA always charges above MSRP for parts. Can they just make up prices and is this common? Are they trying to discourage inividuals walking in for parts?

Usually, I'll buy from the junkyard or online but once in awhile will get a part locally. I will check some of the online Mopar sites first to find out the MSRP on the part. My local dealership consistently charges above the MSRP listed at those sites. I wonder if someone is pocketing the difference.

HELL YA...... Most of are paid partial comission. Including the service writers.
I worked as a salesmen for a chrysler dealer

I've almost always been fortunate at the parts counter. They usually cut me a pretty good discount.

They can sell it for whatever they can get you to pay for it. If they are the only source for the part within a couple of hours, bend over...

98XJSport said:
They can sell it for whatever they can get you to pay for it. If they are the only source for the part within a couple of hours, bend over...
YUP X2

Next time walk in with two chrysler sites and the parts prices on paper printouts then ask why they charge over MSRP. There are still idiots out there that think everybody is dumb.