• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Remote starter Question?

xjtrailrider

NAXJA Forum User
NAXJA Member
I want to install a remote starter in my 90' daily driver. What is the best brand for the money that will be compatible with the RENIX XJ with the GM style ignition.

I would like a "Y" harness as well so I do not have to hack my wireing.

Any advice?

Thanks

if it's an auto trans u can use just about any (cheap) starter

if its a manual you will need a more expensive one

i'm not aware of any remote starter that can be installed without splicing wires

make sure all connections are soldered and heat shrinked with weatherproff (glue inside) heat shrink tubing

do not use any butt connectors or splice in connectors...they will leave you stranded.

i am not an expert but recently installed one on the wife's 98 nissan pathfinder, manual

it was a compustar which seemed to be one of the leading brands.

xjtrailrider said:
I want to install a remote starter in my 90' daily driver. What is the best brand for the money that will be compatible with the RENIX XJ with the GM style ignition.

I would like a "Y" harness as well so I do not have to hack my wireing.

Any advice?

Thanks

Directed Electronics (DEI) all the way. I have always been very impressed with their systems.

I had a python 871xp 2 way system put in my 90 last year.
http://www.pythoncarsecurity.com/products/product.aspx?ProductID=604

Its an excellent system. I had them also put in door actuators (since i didnt have power door locks from factory) so that when i arm the system it also locks the doors, and when i disarm it unlocks.