• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

replacing the water pump in a '98 XJ

chipw

NAXJA Forum User
My water pump died today on the way to work. I'm not a mechanic but have done some light mechanical work, does replacing the water pump qualify as light mechanical work? If it's just a matter of loosening the belt, removing the pully, then the pump, and putting it back together again, then no problem.
Or is better to take it to a shop, on the way to which I know it will overheat? (I do have Haynes manual.)

It's actually not that hard. It is a matter of loosening bolts and replacing. It is much easier if you remove the AC aux fan first. That will give you much more room to work with. I also found it easier to remove the power steering pump bracket so I could just pull the water pump out. Don't forget there is a bolt on the bottom of the pump that is hidden from view. I say go for. It should take no more than a few hours on your first try. You should also do a coolant flush while you're at it.

A while back, two years, I posted a step by step, Basically remove the aux fan and get it out of the way, drain the cooling system, loosen and remove the fan clutch and fan shroud, loosen the idler pulley under the power steering pump, two turns on the bolt should do, release tension on the belt and remove, use that odd bolt that is between the head and the power steering pump that poins kinda straight down, unplug the temp sensor wire, if you lost it picture make a drawing of the fan belt routing. Disconnect the heater hose on the water pump, connects to a metal tube that goes into the water pump.