• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

DANA 30 rebuild

pecsxj

NAXJA Forum User
I am getting ready to put some 4.56 gears in my D30, what are some other things that I should replace while I have it torn apart. I am looking for all suggestions here since this is my first time rebuilding an axle. By the way, I am going to take the entire axle out from under my jeep so I don't want to miss anything. Also, what kind of paint should I use on it? I don't have to worry about the rear cause I am getting a chry 8.25 to put in. Thanks in advance.

I personaly would change axles to alloy ones with the larger, stronger u joints. Depending an which gearing you have now you may need a different carrier too. Some ring gears are one diameter while others are a different diameter. Axle seals are nice if any type of water crossings are anticipated. If you are going to take it out to rebuild it you may want to replace all the control arm bushings too. As for paint I would hurculiner it, but some just paint them with anything thats laying around, some go so far as to have theirs powdercoated.
Best of luck----I know I have left something out but cant think what at this time. Maybe someone else will make a contribution.

Just buy a master install kit - that will have all your seals and bearings in it. If you plan to add a full carrier locker now is definitly the time to do it! and Like mike said maybe some alloys and joints... but thats something you can do later. buy some outer seal while you have it apart.