• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Accidentally added synthetic. Now what?

furrymcmonst

NAXJA Forum User
I've read through some of the raging debates regarding oil. I'm new to all of this car stuff and did my first oil change last night. (I've always gone to a minute lube type place in the past). I sent my wife to pick up some oil while I was at work and I added it without really reading the container (other than to make sure it was 10W30).

When I saw the receipt later, I fell out of my chair as the oil was $6 a quart. Now, I see that it was synthetic oil and wonder what I should do. I haven't actually driven the Jeep since I added the oil but did run it for a minute or two after the change to check the level. Should I remove it and put in the old fashioned oil in order to prevent the leaks that I read will surely come?

This is a 1990 with 205,000 miles and I don't know the history. I was told that the engine was rebuilt about 50,000 miles ago but who really knows.

Synthetic oil does not cause leaks, it removes deposits that may be clogging up leaks that already exist

I switched mine to synth at 180k and love it, havn't had anything but more horsepower since

I've been running synthetic for years. Change every 6 mos. Good filter.
No leaks that didn't already need fixing. Go with it. If you want to drain & refill you can do that too. 220K miles & still strong!!

I prefer the synthetic.

Everyone's got an opinion.

I don't see anything wrong with synthetic. Since you're saying you were rebuilt about 50K ago, you're at about the right point to switch anyhow.

You can get away with the extended change intervals - if you're not regularly operating in dusty environments, or you're not doing all "short-trip" driving (and don't get the oil heated up enough to get all the condensed water out.)