• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2 wd to 4wd

userbmx1315

NAXJA Forum User
how hard is it to switch a 98 2wd xj to a 4wd? i have a wrecked 97 xj 4x4 for parts any hard wiring?

I'm by no means an expert but essentially everything under the body. You'll have to take off the 2wd adapter from the t-case, and then put on the t-case, and switch out the front axle, Then you'll have to get the driveshaft lined up to the t-case, which should be close to where the tailshaft of your trans used to be. You'll have to cut a hole in your floor for the shifter linkage, and wire up the 4wd lights. Then you''ll have to reroute the speedo cable to the t-case. Thats about all I can think off of the top of my head.

thats alot, i'm lookin for a newer xj, i founf plenty of 97-98 for like 1500 to $2000 but the 4wd xjs round here are are like 4000 and it hard getting a loan when i'm 19 and still in my parents house with out any credit. its even hard to get $1000 loan crazy

Don't give up yet....
I converted a 94 2wd to 4x4. bought a 4x4 with a bad engine, and installed front axle, transmission/transfercase, and drive shafts from the donor and bolted up to my 94.

The hole in the body was there, I just removed the blanking plate.

All the wiring was there and ready to go! Search on this forum for several articles.....

The transmission output shaft is different for the 2wd transmission, more than just a bolt up swap. Swap both the trans and transfer case!

ok but with the newer jeeps with the computer wat about the wiring? is hard? any splicing involved? i have a whole motor trans and transfer case, drive shafts. what about paper work? cause i want it street legal