• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

adjusting for caster

Backroads

NAXJA Forum User
Just wanted to get some advice since I'm still new to all this...

Put a 4.5" lift (rough country) on a few months ago. Had vibes and did H&T with front driveshaft in the rear. Still had vibes. Pulled the front driveshaft and it drives great. So I'm assuming its my caster, since the pinion angle is pretty low, on my angle finder I came up with about -2*. I had it aligned after the lift and they took out shims and set it 'to factory specs' which I found out later isnt really what I need for a lifted setup. After looking over gojeeps DIY alignment, I see it needs to be more in the range of +6* (maybe?) so regardless of actual * I need to bring the pinion up to point more at the TC.

My control arms are fixed arms, they are right now at the very rear of the slot holes on the frame. IE as far back as they go. What I want to know is if 1- they are just too long and there isnt a way to adjust anymore to get the pinion up. or 2- if I move the control arms more towards the front and put some shims in if its going to drop the pinion angle or raise the pinion angle? Of 3 - get new adjustables (which I currently dont have money for) Thanks for any help!!!!!

4.0, AW4, 242, 8.25

I'm sitting on a 5.5" lift and currently still have the stock control arms fitted as an interim measure. Had my alignment done yesterday as a base to see how far my caster is out in anticipation of building new control arms. I was amased to note that even at that height I was still within spec wrt caster, albeit on the edge of the lower limit around 5 degrees.