• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Welding noob....

RShotl

NAXJA Forum User
I want to purchase some used equipment, with a budget of around $500. My first project is to repair the floor on my Jeep.

I see lots of used Lincoln arc welders for really cheap... they are small and look pretty junky.

Should I focus on trying to find some stick welder?

Ideally, I'd like to be able to use the welding equipment to weld up random things for hobby after I do work on my Jeep.

I am a total noob, any recommended reading?

I don't recommend an arc welder for a noob trying to repair a rusty floor on an XJ.........I don't recommend a "decent" welder try to use an arc welder to repair a rusty floor on an XJ........If you only plan on ever welding sheet metal, a 110V mig will work fine IMO. A kit that allows you to run a shielded gas or a flux core wire will be more versitle for you. If you plan on doing anything bigger than 3/6-1/4 and you will rely on it for safety, a 220V welder is the only way to go IMO. Just my $0.02

Not that this is really OEM Tech... there is a forum for this: http://www.naxja.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=125

Anyway, feva4u and jeeperjohn both hit it right on the nose, IMO. If you're planning on this as the only project the
n a 'cheaper' welder should be sufficient. If you're planning on getting into it and doing other projects, save up a little more cash and purchase a 220V MIG. I'm quite happy with my Millermatic 180, everyone has to start somewhere and that is a great machine to do so.

Last edited:
I'm in the same boat, and I don't have much cash right now. Altho all I want to build are bumpers with 3/16 or 1/4... would an arc welder work for this?

Check your local Craigslist... used welders sometimes pop up on there for stupidly cheap.