• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Swapped 4.3L Vortec Carbureted Fuel Pump Problems

Roach

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, I'm a newb on here, but just bought my 3rd XJ.

This one is an 84 with lots of changes, including 4.3L Carbureted Chevy Vortec from an 80's blazer.

Right now the fuel pump is dying, clicking loudly, and has died once so far.

What fuel pump should I install?

I've never worked on a Chevy engine and I'm curious how much that will affect everything in my XJ.

Other mods that I've identified by the way are Rough Country 3.5" (im guessing) 32x11.5 BFG AT KO's, Posi Lock, aftermarket front and rear bumpers, safari rack, cb radio, skid plates, and kenwood stereo.

I am also curious, how much of an impact does the fuel pump have on the ability for the XJ to accel?

a 4.3l swap = pure awesome. Have you checked what tranny and Tcase are behind it?

Anyway, not sure which one with, but a dying fuel pump will whittle acceleration down to a peg before you replace it...

I haven't checked the tranny or transfer case yet, in fact I'm going to do that as soon as I finish here.

And accelleration is worse than down to a peg, I'm glad to hear that this sounds like the only issue.

Without looking at a manual or dropping the tank, I can't remember, is the fuel pump mounted above or inside the tank? That will affect whether I change tomorrow or on the weekend.

I just bought this for a great price, but Ive only ever had stock xj's, so i need some help!

Let's play a game, . . Name the Mods!

jeep1cs6.jpg

sorry it's so fuzzy, cheap camera!
enginegm7.jpg

4.3L Vortec from 80's Chevy Blazer
frontdiffsj7.jpg

Front Diff
frontaxlera6.jpg

Front Axle w/ 4x4 Posi-Lock (Whitey Brand from Oregon??)
reardiffku4.jpg

Rear Diff
rearaxleui8.jpg
Rear Axle
xfercaseom5.jpg

Xfer Case, numbers are C-15367