• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help me identify my parts!

98XJLimitedNateWV

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, I'm a total newb here. I just got a 98 Cherokee Limited and am planning on doing some modifications. I want to identify a few things so I know what I'm working with. So without crawling underneath the thing I want to find out what axles I have. I've been doing some reading so I know I have a D30 up front. I know that if I have ABS that I have a D35 in the back...but how can I find out if it has ABS without smashing the brakes to find out?? Also is it possible to tell which transfer case I have based on it being the Limited? Thanks in advance for the expert info!

I'll tell you how in 3 steps.

step 1. Go outside
Step 2 drink beer
step 3 Look under rig.

Seriously, go and look, the 8.25 will have a big flat lip on the bottom, the D35 will be oval shapes all the way round.
Chances are since it's a limited, it's probably got ABS.

Now i'm pretty lazy but even i will go look under my truck lol you could always take your vin and look it up for a list of options (can't recall the site or if it was a request from chrystler) but if your already out there by your jeep you could just give a quick peek under

90XJay said:
Now i'm pretty lazy but even i will go look under my truck lol you could always take your vin and look it up for a list of options (can't recall the site or if it was a request from chrystler) but if your already out there by your jeep you could just give a quick peek under

lol I don't care to look under but I'm not sure I'd know what I'm looking for once I get there on the transfer case.

98XJLimitedNateWV said:
haha that sounds like a plan. I knew about the flat bottom on the 8.25. How about the transfer case? I have 2H, part-time 4H, full-time 4H, and 4L if that helps.