• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New Jeep Guy.... Newb ?

LilXJ89

NAXJA Forum User
ok, I am new to moddin XJs for crawlin, I've got an 89 w/ 4.0I6, Aw4, and a 242. I'm planning on throwin a FWHPD44, 9", 4Link front, Rear Leaf (for now) and 36" somethings ( haven't decide on tires yet). my question is, I'm not sure how much I like this 242.... nice lo range and all, but my last rig I like the ability to twin stick and gear. I'm about 50% sure you can do this with a 231 (am I right?) and the parts availability is much better than for a 242. so.... will a 231 just bolt into the back of my aw4 or am I gonna have to do some "adapterin" and/or tranny putput shaft changin.... I searched with confusin reseults and many opinions. Also, doubler options..... any?? I LOVE to go REAL slow :patriot: . I've been around wheelin for a while, but never had a jeep (ford guy) so I've got a lot to learn, and I hope I put this in the right forum. Thanks again.

B

you should be able to just drop the 242 and put on the 231. i have a 242 in mine and you're right, there aren't many parts for it. the only thing that's different is that there's no 4 hi full time in the 231. you'll have to get a new cover for the interior if you care about shit like that, but onther than that the gearing should be the only thing different.

mudslinger4x4 said:
you should be able to just drop the 242 and put on the 231. i have a 242 in mine and you're right, there aren't many parts for it. the only thing that's different is that there's no 4 hi full time in the 231. you'll have to get a new cover for the interior if you care about shit like that, but onther than that the gearing should be the only thing different.