• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Conversion Question: Air Shocks

THalladay

NAXJA Forum User
I'm interested in switching my cherokee to a 100% air spring setup (Something like Fox 2.5 Air Shocks)

http://www.polyperformance.com/shop/product.php?productid=182&cat=34&page=1

However I need information on how to do the crossover to control arms in the rear since I would be getting rid of my leaves. I can seem to find much info on it. Does anyone make a tri-link or 4-link for the cherokee rear? Something close / modifiable?

Background:
I have a '99 XJ with 6.5" lift & 35's. Running a ford 8.8 in the rear. Stock upper front UCA's, Adjustable LCA's. No long arm kit.

I have no experience working with steering geometries, but am a quick learn and have a good pool of local people to help with the implementation.

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!

if your asking these kinda questions your in over your head already.

not to be a dick but its just true.

at the point of your build right now you have no need for airshocks, or even a linked rear.

leaves are perfect for where your at now. links are better but with short arms up front you cant really get enough travel to make air shocks of warranted use anyways.

xDUMPTRUCKx said:

...with short arms up front you cant really get enough travel to make air shocks of warranted use anyways.

i use up every in oh my 12" shocks with my short arms... replacing the coils and shocks with a 12" airshock, it should use every bit of thoes 12" of travel too....

GrimmJeeper said:
Thanks. Was having a brain fart and searched for coilover conversions and was not having much luck, thought that was the next closest thing.

Dumptruck, no doubt I'm in over my head, but that's where I learn the most about what I don't already know.