• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Lexan doors write-up...

WrenchMonkey

NAXJA Member #771
NAXJA Member
I've been absorbing knowledge and inspiration around here for better than four years. Finally, I think I may have come up with something original enough to be worth sharing, something to give back...

That said, this is my first write up, so be gentle with me!

Like many here, I run my XJ doorless.

30623673_10204210404376198_5992429020958949376_n.jpg

I go open-air from at least from easter to thanksgiving, and return to the steel doors for the winter months. But the doors (for my two door especially) are big and bulky, and kinda heavy. I hated having to pull em out every time it rained. Or looked like rain, or the news guy forecast rain, or my neighbor heard a rumor it might rain, whatever... And they were nearly impossible to throw in the back of the rig, in case I got caught in a surprise shower while I was out. They're too tall to stand up, and not flat enough to lay down. And did I mention they're friggin heavy?

So I made something better. Lexan. They're super lightweight, only five or ten pounds each, and they lay flat in the back (though they do take up some space, more on that later...)

I made em up over a year ago, and while I didn't get pictures of the original build, they're not complicated. Two pieces of 1" angle iron (one from each hinge to meet at the latch) make up the frame, and a big sheet of 1/8" lexan for the skin.

Driver side door, from the outside, and the inside.

30594853_10204210401936137_2517090254112948224_n.jpg

Last edited:
The angle iron is mounted flatside down, to sit atop the hinges. Two 1/4" bolts serve as hingepins.

30581369_10204210401856135_6540206152003616768_n.jpg