• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

31x10.5s on stock XJ wheels

JMooring

NAXJA Forum User
I'm looking at putting Firestone Destination M/Ts in a size 31x10.5 on my stock XJ rims in addition to installing a 3" Rough Country suspension lift. Does this sound like a good idea? Will everything fit? Someone with experience please clue me in! This is my first time owning a Jeep and I don't want to mess anything up.

they'll rub the LCA's

use a washer or two behind the steering stops, you'll sacrifice some turning radius, but that will stop you from chunking your tires on the lca's.

that or get some WJ LCAs, they have a bend in them for tire clearance. Minor modification of the frame side bushing is required.

thanks for the quick response, 87manche. do 31s fill out nicely with a 3" lift? also, do you have any recommendations for a budget 3" lift kit? I was looking at the Rough Country kit but I've heard bad things about the ride quality

My rough country rides just fine, i enjoy mine, but you can spend all your monet if you want.. Some people just don't like r c lifts, just like sun glasses, i only wear ray bans, lol

JMooring said:
thanks for the quick response, 87manche. do 31s fill out nicely with a 3" lift? also, do you have any recommendations for a budget 3" lift kit? I was looking at the Rough Country kit but I've heard bad things about the ride quality

here's 31's on a 3.5 RE on stock wheels. They fill out pretty nicely, would be perfect if the lift were half an inch lower.

HPIM1885.jpg