• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

To disconnect or not to disconnect

sdigs

NAXJA Forum User
Hello,

Newbie here with a question. I finaly get to play with the wifes 94 XJ. I am looking at the RE 3.5" super ride and super flex lift kits with 31.5 x 10 tires. I would like to keep it as streetable as possible as it is becoming my daily driver. I am thinking I want to go with the super ride as I don't "plan" on doing any real extreme crawling. My objective is to take the kids fishing at remote lakes and check out some of the old mines around northern NM and southern CO. I am thinking that the most extreme roads I might get on are places like black bear and imogene pass. Can anyone tell me if i really need to be able to disconnect for roads like that. I haven't been on either road since i was a a kid 30 years ago.

The SR kit also has different control arm bushings. I think they quieter on road.

You can always disconnect with a wrench. On flat ground it should only take a few minutes. Use tie wire to hold things up out of the way while wheeling. If you notice a difference you can always add disconnects to the SR kit later. If you are not going to disconnect very often, you can probably find some cheap disconnects to add.

bl87xj said:
The SR kit also has different control arm bushings. I think they quieter on road.

You can always disconnect with a wrench. On flat ground it should only take a few minutes. Use tie wire to hold things up out of the way while wheeling. If you notice a difference you can always add disconnects to the SR kit later. If you are not going to disconnect very often, you can probably find some cheap disconnects to add.

I disconnect with a wrench also, it only takes a few minuets. I disconnect while the kids air me down.