• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Is a ball joint supposed to twist? (clunk when turning)

theksmith

NAXJA Member #1072
This may seem like a silly question, but I've got no experience with ball joints.... I currently have my steering knuckles off on my 01 XJ's stock dana 30, the upper ball joint stud turns in only one axis, the lower ones however can twist all around just like a TRE, is that normal?

I would have expected them both to only rotate in one axis so that the knuckle can turn on them as if they were little axles. For the bottom ones to twist all over the place seems incorrect to me.

If that is normal, any way to tell if they are still perhaps bad (chasing down a front end clunk when turning wheels). I already had tried to see if there was any play when the knuckle was still on and could not detect any. The clunk only happens when vehicle is on the ground (i.e. with resistance to turning). Happens when sitting still as well as moving (so not thinking u-joints). Already put in new heavy duty track bar, no sway bar attached, replaced all TRE's and steering gear box, tightened ALL font end bolts. No frame cracks near steering or track bar mounts. Seems only things left are ball joints, hub-bearings, or the actuall steering column.

Normal for the ball joints to do what you describe. I doubt that the ball joints are the cause of the noise. Take a look at all the joints/connections while someone else turns the wheel back and forth quickly. Also, check the control arms. What kind of control arms are you running? Aftermarket, stock?

Kyung