• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Headlight Upgrade

Brad Klammer

NAXJA Forum User
Please don't flame, I have searched but it didn't really answer all my questions as I'm a big time noob when it comes to lighting.

This is what I understand,
You can either go HID or you can just get sealed beam replacements?

Then there is all this talk about E-code (I'm guess the european standards) lens and housing. What's the deal here? Are these lights any good? I don't want ebay type stuff bc I've had it on my cars in the past and I'd rather go with quality components.

I've also read about wiring upgrades. Will I get better lighting from just upgrading the wiring and putting in better bulbs?

I have a 98xj and money isn't really an issue (I'd like to keep it around 200-300) and I want brighter, better coverage lights.

Please dont direct me to other posts as I've read them all, and thanks for bearing with a noob!

Thanks,

Brad
:cheers:

I used Silverstar beams in mine and they did improve the lighting. I think the next level of upgrade is to replace the sealed bulb with an H4 conversion such as IPF, Hella, Savage, Delta, etc... IPF will allow you to use a very bright bulb in their conversion (I think the "Fat Boy" bulb is somewhere in the neighborhood of 80W on low and 65W on high).

You may want to spend your time, money and effort on some external lights instead. Some good KC lights will be much more useful than headlights - especially if you can mount them up high to keep them out of the muck.