• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

87 Cherokee Heating Problem

ronnied1205

NAXJA Forum User
My son has a 87 cherokee w/4.0 six with heating problem. I have replaced tstat, had radiator cleaned and vatted, and still heats. It is a closed system. It has been in the shop for 2 weeks and it has the mechanics stumped. It will run for about 15 minutes and blow up. The first time it actually blew up the plastic bottle. They ran a chemical test to check blown head gasket twice and shows to be good. They said it would cost $500 plus to pull head and check to make sure its not the problem. Water pump is new, fan clutch is new. They have a vacuum system they installed to make it take the water in the system. Does anyone have any ideas. This is my first time to use this site, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Ronnie

Hey it almost sounds like he's got the same problem I had with my 87 Cherokee... It could very well be as easy as 'burping' the system getting the air out of the cycle. I did it last night, after 2 weeks of my Jeep just sitting there and I finally got it to work... I had the same problems.

I had overheated it a few weeks back. Blew a hole in the lower radiator hose so I replaced that...It would run fine for about 15 mins, heat would be about 210... once I turned off the Jeep the coolant bottle just started building up and building up and start leaking out under the cap. The solution... burp the system.

Here's 2 useful articles from other NAXJA users I found handy and this is what I followed to get it to work...

http://208.101.10.250/~naxjaor1/forum/showthread.php?t=87953&highlight=%2Aburping

http://208.101.10.250/~naxjaor1/forum/showthread.php?t=68501&highlight=%2Aburping

at the very bottom of this page you'll find the sensor you need to unscrew...