• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Point and Laugh - n00b question

lornius

NAXJA Forum User
Hi All, This may seem a silly question and feel free to point and laugh, but I gotta know ... when my XJ (1989 5- speed manual) is in 4Lo, can I still change gears as I normally would in 4High or 2Wd? I know, I know, a silly question, but rather than blowing my T-case finding out I shouldn't, I thought I would ask. I am new to 4x4 and seriously don't know. Years ago I trashed a perfectly good Samuri by driving it in 4 wheel drive on dry pavement because no one told my I shouldn't (comapny vehicle). Now I have my own XJ and do not want to repeat that little move. I find it hard to beleive that I have to climb hills at 2 miles per hour just because I am in 4Lo.

Thanks.

Yes you can shift, but you should still not drive on pavement in 4wd unless you have a "full time" 4wd option on your t-case shift lever.

You can but don't. If you are in 4lo then you better be really stuck or pullin some weight. I was always told to never go more then acouple miles an hour in 4lo and to stay away from it as much as possible. Stick with 4hi.

Prowler said:
You can but don't. If you are in 4lo then you better be really stuck or pullin some weight. I was always told to never go more then acouple miles an hour in 4lo and to stay away from it as much as possible. Stick with 4hi.

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

The only thing limiting how fast you go in 4 low is the RPMs of the engine. Use common sense and don't rev the crap out of it. If you need to go fast leave it in 4-Hi. And once again: if you are on dry pavement don't use 4 anything...stick to 2 wheel drive.

Prowler said:

There is no problem using four wheel low as long as you're not running around at redline all day.