• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Shackle length!!!

fdsa487 said:
If the shackle on my Cherokee is 11" from center of bolt hole to center of bolt hole how much of a lift shackle is it? I can not find the answer for the life of me!
:smoker:

Well a stock shackle measures 3" from center to center on a cherokee. So that sounds like a 8" lift shackle??? But DAMN that seems tall as hell.
I also remember hearing that a lift shackle only gives half the advertised lift!!! I am no mechanic so I dont know. I just thought I would post the measurements of a stock shackle since I had it sitting right here.

Lata

A 11" shackle will give you 5.5" lift or so.. will also point you driveshaft to the sky, if not setup right and make you leafs sag alot if they are not longer need stock.

I have standard strait shackles right now I just want to get some boomarang ones. They have 1" and 1.5" lift ones at T&T. I don't want to make the Jeep any higher or lower than it is right now so I am trying to figure out the lift on there now.
I have 4.5" lift RE springs now that I have had on there for a few years
I also have 4.5" lift RE ZJ springs and a .25" spacer up front
Its a little tiny bit higher in the front than the back about .25" from the spacer.

fdsa487 said:
I have standard strait shackles right now I just want to get some boomarang ones. They have 1" and 1.5" lift ones at T&T. I don't want to make the Jeep any higher or lower than it is right now so I am trying to figure out the lift on there now.
I have 4.5" lift RE springs now that I have had on there for a few years
I also have 4.5" lift RE ZJ springs and a .25" spacer up front
Its a little tiny bit higher in the front than the back about .25" from the spacer.