• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Putting a 91 AW4/NP231 into my 90-I've got questions

BIGSLVRXJ

NAXJA Forum User
Let me start off by explaining what's going on here. This is my first time messing around with this area of the drivetrain. I've had virtually everything that bolts onto the engine off of it but before, so I'm pretty confident I can do this, but when I had to replace the engine I had my buddy split the engine/transmission. I'm getting a transmission jack tomorrow and I plan to split the tranny and tcase in the Jeep to pull the old one out and split them to put the new one in. I figure that way the load is much lighter. As of right now I have everything besides the cooler lines and 4wd linkage off the sides of the transmission, so it's more or less ready to come out. I've also got a 99 intake manifold on so I'm running the 91+ TV cable too, so that's not a problem. Right now I've got the original 1990 AW4 and 231 which correct me if I'm wrong, the AW4 is a 21 spline output and the 231 is a 21 input right? The 91 AW4 I'm dropping in is a 23 spline all the way around right? I guess here are my questions...

1. As long as I'm doing the trans and t-case together there is no problem with compatability right? I assume I use my existing flexplate? So there is really no change as far as it bolting to the engine, it's only on the other end right?
2. I'm really worried about getting the torque converter seated against the pump correctly. It doesn't look like anyone matchmarked it at any point along the way, so am I screwed there? Also, is it hard to get it all the way against the pump?