• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

33's on a 2" BB

xjmania

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, I'm sure this will bother people. My 31x10.50 BFG AT's are getting bald. I dont have any flares or plastic crap on my 98. About the only action my jeep sees is extremely muddy, flat fields and i need the bigger tires. Dirt roads etc. also. I ran the 31x10.50's for a while without any lift and they barely rubbed. With the 2" BB would the 33's be ok?

if you dont have flares (im assuming you trimmed) the 2" BB should clear the HEIGHT of the 33" tire, again IF you trimmed and trimmed well. what i would be worried about would be the width of the tire (most likely 12.5") if you have any more than ~4.5" of backspacing you're gonna end up rubbing the steering components up front. now its not a sure thing...im no expert, but with 4.5" on my 84 (with stock fender placement, and stock ~5.5" backspaced rims) its not the fenders getting rubbed that im worried about, its the steering components....and 3 pt. turning out of every parking space (until i can afford to put wheel spacers on) is a bitch, trust me. might wanna get more opinions on it though. Ed

what he said is correct. Your stock wheels will not take kindly to a 33x12.5, but, BFG makes an MT that's a 33x9.5, and interco makes a 33x10.5 swamper.
You could do tall and skinny, but tall and wide will not work unless you get new wheels.
Trim and bumpstop it and you'll be fine.

i run 32s, hommade 1.75 spacer in the front, 2'' chevy shackle in the rear, on rockcrawler wheels with 3.75 inches of backspacing. i had to bumpstop a bit and trim a lot. im sure you could do it with 33s.

xjmania said:
Where did you guys find bigger bumpstops?

you could search online (on the various jeep/xj websites...google is your friend)