• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cracked exhaust manifold...easy to replace?

1995XJSport

NAXJA Forum User
I just found the classic cracked exhaust manifold. Its cracked right before the joint where it meets the downpipe.

Is this a rather easy thing to change? It looks like the exhaust manifold is literally right on top (somewhat embedded from the fuel rail)

I'm a noob. :banghead: :repair:

I just replaced my "cracked" manifold on Sunday. It really wasn't a difficult job just time consuming. Make sure you get new O-rings for the fuel injectors too. I couldn't get in there with a torque wrench to torque the nuts back down so, I just made sure they were nice and tight. If you don't have a "Haynes" or "Chiltons" pic one up! and make sure to wet the new O-rings with fuel prior to reseating them. Chris

For some, there can be trouble with the studs threaded into the block at either end of the exhaust manifold. They are known to shear off, like the shock bolts. The rearmost stud on #6 is the one you dont want to break. Drilling it out is best done on a engine stand.

Its a good idea to heat them and soak with penetrating oil before trying to turn them. I dont use a torch anywhere near the fuel lines. Just start with engine warmed up, with gloves this job can be done on a hot engine.

The exhaust manifold collector nuts are often rust frozen, and a small propane torch works well to get them loose.

Last edited:
I'm assuming this is the 6 cyl. I helped my brother change the cracked exhaust manifold on his Jeep Wrangler. He bought the cheapo replacement off e-bay, with the bellows welded into the two outer most tubes, to handle the expansion/contraction without cracking. Its seems to work, he hasn't had any trouble with it since.