• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

fuel pump not clicking on

cwuwildcat

NAXJA Forum User
alright ive been reading and searching through threads for a couple hours now trying to not have to start a new thread that might have already been talked about.

when i turn my key to the on position i can hear a couple clicks but not the normal buzzing from the fuel pump. which is why i believe my jeep wont start. i took my multimeter and tried checking the voltage at the fuel pump where the electrical plug is and since im new at using a multimeter im not sure what it was telling me. the best reading i got was 6 volts. every thread i have read says that if the pump isnt "buzzing" when i turn the key then its probably the CPS. i tried changing one of the relays and switching them around and such but still no luck. im at college and have a limited amount of tools (or auto-mechanically inclined friends) but any suggestions would be nice.

btw, its an 87' 2.5litre manual.

when you turn the key to the "on" position it should buzz for about 2 seconds to prime the system. I'm not quite sure about yours but my '91 does this and every other jeep I've seen. I'm not sure if the CPS controls the power to the pump, as I'm pretty sure it controls the injectors. However, there is a ballast resistor somewhere in the circuit (everyone I've seen is on the drivers side fender). It looks like a little white plastic box with two wires clipped onto it. You can try jumping that with whatever you've got. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong here, but I had to deal with a couple bad fuel pumps that just turned out to be a bad ground in the tank.

Could be a bad ground but... either way you have to drop the tank so might as well replace the pump.