• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Undecided on tire size for trails around the PNW

wrecked

NAXJA Forum User
As I have posted before I've been collecting parts to build up my 2dr XJ for the last 8 months or so. I have alot of the suspension components, axles and working on getting gears and shafts.

However, before I really start building I've got to get a better idea on what tire size I should run. I know my rear D60 is going to be a bit of an anchor with anything smaller than a 36" or so, but at the same time I don't want to make trails too easy by running a massive tire.

I'm thinking something like a 37" Irok's, 37" Krawlers or 38" Creepy Crawlers. I ran 35" Boggers on my old XJ and found that to be good, but I'll be running alot more trails than just out to TSF this time around.

I believe it was Avanteone who kept his 35" Krawlers instead of going to the 37's.

Anyone have an opinion what you would be good for the local trails? I'm just really indecisive.

-Kevin

I run 33's and haven't had a problem yet. I've only run Reiter, Evans, and Elbe, though. Of everyone I wheel with regularly, I have the smallest tires and can go everywhere they can. Also, something to consider is the powers that be are trying to get max tire size limits on many of the local trails. 35's or smaller is the rumor. Although nobody I know is going to run a D60. I'll let someone more knowledgable tackle the clearance issues you're looking at.

I got the front and rear axle out of a Ford F250 and a spare set of doors to make half doors for the summer for $500. I like the idea of having a rig that I wont have to worry so much about breakage, which is why I'm keeping the 60for the rear.

I also may not stay in the area forever and don't really want to have to rebuild later on for tougher trails.

-Kevin