• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Open or Closed system -Cooling?

97RedXJ

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 97 with the 4.0. it has about 40k on motor. I have been having some cooling issues and i search but not sure of the difference in open or closed cooling. I have a 180 t-stat but its running at 215? Anti Freeze is hyper neon green so i am not sure what to do. How would i know or check the water pump?

I could use any help.
Thanks

first off it is an open cooling system, the renix or pre 1991 injection system, was a closed cooling system. i would look at the radiator depending on if its come from a rusty state, mine ate its second at 140K but it came from ohio before i bought it. As for the water pump i'm not an expert at diagnosing those but listeneng for any bearing trouble would be my first guess, i've always just replaced mine when they blew out in my 83 cj

Wow only 40,000 on a 97 my 96 has about 130,000
215 is pretty close to normal.
If your radiator looks like mine it is shot.

PICT0078.jpg

97RedXJ said:
I have a 97 with the 4.0. it has about 40k on motor. I have been having some cooling issues and i search but not sure of the difference in open or closed cooling. I have a 180 t-stat but its running at 215? Anti Freeze is hyper neon green so i am not sure what to do. How would i know or check the water pump?

I could use any help.
Thanks
A cooler thermo won't keep you from overheating. All it does is allow coolant to flow at a lower temp slowing the engine from reaching normal temp (210*).
I'm no expert, but based on my own recent experience, I would NOT consider 215* to be too hot.

NSW Sparky said:
Wow only 40,000 on a 97 my 96 has about 130,000
215 is pretty close to normal.
If your radiator looks like mine it is shot.

PICT0078.jpg