• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rear Spring Wrap:

fubar XJ

NAXJA Forum User
So I'm just a few weeks away from installing my Clayton 6.5" Hardarm kit on my XJ, and it occurred to me that many other rear SOA applications have issues with axlewrap. I'm assuming that the engineers who design these kits take that into account, but I have no experience on this as it relates to XJs. I have a SOA CJ that had major axlewrap issues before I fabbed a traction bar, it was particularly bad on steep rock climbs.

Who has had axlewrap issues on their XJ? Do any particular kits seem more/less prone to this? I know there are kits such as Sam's Off Road that can be used to combat this, is it going to be an issue on my XJ?

It's not a huge issue until your springs get old and saggy .. at which point you probably need to replace or rebuild them anyways.

Good to hear. But it is an issue on some level? Do you know of anyone running a rear anti-wrap bar?

It can be an issue, but isn't always. Depends how soft your leafs are and how hard you are on the throttle. I've heard of a few people running anti-wrap bars, but they are a loss of clearance, so I dont think many people do. I had a lot of wrap on my last set of leafs, I threw an extra leaf in each to stiffen them up (off of an F150 rear end) and then later replaced them with new leafs.

HP + wide tires on rocks + fat foot = axle wrap (somtimes)
Your driving habits have a lot to do with it. It's been gone over mant times.
If you find your are having this problem DO fix it fast. This is the stuff that trashes springs and drive train fast.