• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cheap mods+Budget Lift...help?

firefight343

NAXJA Forum User
Hows it goin. Im pretty new to wheelin, just bought a '84 XJ off craigslist, went to a junk yard, bought a smittybuit 'yota front bumper and welded her on, as well as realtree camo'd the brush guards...so basically im a self- sufficient 18 year old with a new excuse to not make rent.

The jeep has a 2-3" rough country suspension lift on it, but I'm looking to add atleast 1.5-2" more on a very limited budget. I've looked into 'Rocky Road budget lifts' and they seem pretty cool, but for almost half the price i can get 2" rear leaf shackles, and 2" coil spacers for the front...what im wondering is.....is that all i need for the lift.
1) Will I need BPE's for the shocks (I understand that you cant yet see what im looking at....but generally...would you need to extend the shocks). And furthermore, any addition equipment for the front end

2) Are there any complications with lifting my XJ the 'budget route.' (What I mean to say is what ARE the complications lol)

3) With regard to the rear-end, I understand that a cheapo AAL swap with an S-10 (equivalent) stock leaf will stiffen the ride a bunch so i dont really want to go that route

...am i going to get the height I want with just shackles (is that a good -cheap- way to lift it)

4) and will i need anything extra for the rear end if i just put on shackles...i.e. new bushings, bump stop, idk