• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

No oil air intakes

Hoss in IL

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, let me preface this by saying this;I'm not a mechanic, I'm a carpenter. I'm not a computer guru either(my searches didn't help much, i would end up with 500 threads to sift through. Idon't think I was doing it correctly even though I read the "how to search"thread.)

I want to replace the stock air box in my 98 to a less restrictive "open" style. i'm planning on doing the exhaust upgrade(headers, maybe, new cat and muffler) so what i'm looking for is efficient air and exhaust flow.

from what i've read, the only oil less package i can find is the AEM model but they don't make it for a 98 cherokee, only the 07 wrangler. Do you guys know of something that i haven't found that would fill the bill, or a homebrew that might work? i did read Dr.Dyno's write up about his and don't know if i should tackle that or not.

thanks for the help and take it easy on me please.
Hoss

They make them for all sorts of jeeps but I couldn't find one for a 98 XJ, just 98 ZJs and TJs. Call AEM directly and see if they have something thats not listed. Maybe you could modify one from a TJ. There may be a problem with hood clearance where the air tube crosses over the valve cover on XJ's. Just guessing though.

Use a Donaldson filter/airbox. They work great, paper element, more surface area than a K&N, can be easily adapted for snorkles, and can be had for about $70 on ebay. Check out Go-Jeep's site, he's got a few pictures on there.
http://www.go.jeep-xj.info/HowtoAirFilter.htm

standard

Couldn't you just buy Rusty's Airtube and instead of using the K&N, use a similar sized AEM dry filter?