• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

how to paint plastic parts

furrymcmonst

NAXJA Forum User
I bought a new header panel and the frames that go around the front headlights. The existing grill is black, the frames are chrome, and the header panel is white.

I want them all to be black. Can I just buy a can of spray paint and paint over them? If so, what type should I use?

Is there any prep that needs to be done, especially on the "chrome" parts?

I'm new to this so please if you are wondering whether or not to state the obvious, please do. Thanks.

Sell the Chrome parts and buy some plain black ones or some painted ones. The plastic chrome might not take paint very well. Try www.certi-fit.com or www.quadratec.com for new (no painting needed) and www.car-part.com for used. Or look on eBay.

Wash the parts with detergent and water and dry them ( oil or grease and paint disagree). Sand with 320 or 400 grit sand paper. Sand back and forth in one direction, not round and round or criss/cross. Blow off any sanding dust and lint. Spray several light coats instead of one or two heavy coats (which will run and sag). Use spray paint for plastic and metal, automotive paint is not needed for black. Use the expensive stuff, cheap paint can be off color, dry dull or cover poorly.

i had some lights that were crome and i painted them black by first lightly sand the serface just to give the paint something to stick too, give it really light coats so the paint dosent run (the more you sand the less chance of this but stop if you start to see copper but if you do dont worry just take it easy on the rest of it, also i found that wet sanding works the best)
-Keep Jeepin