• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

GOOD MOTOR? OR BAD?

XJ2NV

NAXJA Forum User
i was looking at a jeep cherokee (xj) 86.. and it had a V-6 not a strait 6 and it was carborated with about 190k on it....my buddy doesnt know about jeeps and he said that the motor is junk and they have lots of problems like (blowing head gaskets,and shit like that) just woundering if any one knew about these motors and how good or bad they are... thanks anthony XJ2NV PLEASE WRITE ME BACK IF YOU KNOW I NEED THE HELP THANKS AGAIN

:NAXJA:

I have no personal experience with anything but the 4.0, but what you have is most likely the GM 2.8 liter V-6. Pretty gutless with 115 horsepower stock.

ya that is what it is i was just woundering how good they were for wheeling and shit like that...i also heard that they have lots of probles too thanks for the reply

cstilesiscool said:
Yeah after a little searching on here, it appears to be a pretty crappy engine.

Searching...how novel. :D

On the other hand, if it's dirt cheap and in great shape, you could take the road less travelled and think about this...

http://www.lunghd.com/Tech_Articles/Project_XJ/Project_XJ.htm

It's a pretty good site that has lots of neat (and cheap!) info on XJ's; but more importantly, it has info on swapping in a 3.4 litre V6 into a 2.8-equipped XJ. A good option for what most folks view as a dead end Jeep.

Personally, I'd just look elsewhere for a good 2.5 4-banger or 4.0 six-pack, but I'm kinda lazy and have no money.

:)