• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

miller welder compairason which to buy

bj-666

NAXJA Forum User
I'm on the hunt for a high quality mig welder for fabrication on the jeep i've been welding for a few years with an old ac stick and I am ready to move on to a better machine. I am usually welding from 1/8"-3/8" with the stick but i would also like to be able to do sheet metal. I've read a lot about all the different mfg's of welders and came to the conclusion that miller is just about the best you can buy. i want a welder i can continue to use for years to come on bigger and bigger projects . the only differences i see between these two welders is obvious amp rating 3/8" vs 1/2" single pass capibilities. The 251 has Adjustable run-in, Active Arc Stabilizer™ Fan-on-Demand™ while the 210 does not how important are these fetures and just what are they used for.
Millermatic 210

http://www.millerwelds.com/pdf/spec_sheets/DC12-46.pdf

or
millermatic 251
http://www.millerwelds.com/pdf/spec_sheets/DC12-49.pdf

I'm not to experienced in different machines, but I can tell you some buddies and I all put in for a Millermatic 210 and it prolly was the best damn thing ever! We eventually traded it for a lincoln 140, air compressor, and some cash. Def a big difference. But then again the 140 is a whole lot smaller machine. I guess what i'm trying to say is I've never compared the 210 to similar machines but from using ours, we loved it and now miss it. I'm looking to get a miller 180 soon.