• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

fouled plug?

jeepnuts311

NAXJA Forum User
hey all,

this mornin my jeep started just fine and idled ok, but it lacks power and the exhaust sounds really weird. i have a flowmaster and it has a good sound, but today it sounds like a old V8. when i rev it up and let off, it overruns and sounds like there is firing in the exhaust.

it starts just like normal, idles a tad rough, and smells rich. do you think this is a fouled spark plug? im fixin to change them pending responses on here.

i have had sensors go bad in the past, and this isnt the same as that. the jeep tries to rev and even tho its missing badly it doesnt act like its gonna stall. drove just fine just felt funky.

-Tim

did it act this way after the car had warmed up to operating temp too, or only on a cold start.

im assuming this is a 1990 based on your profile you might want to check over by the egr and related parts that hook to the intake or exhaust also that black plastic vacume pod that is connected to the egr can melt and make a loud type of exhaust noise.good luck!

You can tell tons about how an engine is running by doing a plug reading. What did the plugs look like? Can you post a pix of the plugs?

My bet is on a clogged CAT, but that is pretty much a guess without seeing the plugs.

hey all,

just drove to work and have more symptoms to post up. it will barely go 60 mph, and there are lots of hills on the way to work. it shakes like crazy when struggling to go up the hills. if i put the pedal down it will downshift and go a little better, but still shakes. downhills it coasts like normal. it shakes a lot at idle too now. honestly, it feels like the timing is off, but i dont see how that could be the case.