• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Explain Headlight Wiring Upgrades To Me...

GhostDakota

NAXJA Forum User
So I just upgraded my headlights with the Hella HL28200 wiring harness. It's worth every penny! I would've paid several hundred dollars for the difference I am seeing right now. It's literally night and day.

I've been having discussions about this at work in regards to why it's brighter now, with the 12 gauge wire, than it was with the factory 18 gauge wire. My main conclusions are:

-Shorter wire from battery to headlights
-Relays
-Thicker (12g versus 18g) wire offers less resistance allowing more voltage to the bulbs

I am not a certified electrician, and I am having this discussion with an ASE certified tech who "knows more than I do" (He does in most regards but I have researched this for a long time) .... He is stating the thicker wires will not change anything in regards to resistance and the voltage making it to my lights (This may be true with factory bulbs, but I am running IPF H4's and Hella E code housings.). He says my lights are brighter due to the fact that these new wires are not from 1991 (aka not corroded) which is ALSO true, but not the main reason IMO.

Any help is appreciated as I think I am correct.

Corrosion and resistance are the major players, here.

If you have too much resistance in the line, the amount of usable power will never reach the end. Corrosion, essentially, does the same thing.

If the lowered resistance did not help, why do people upgrade battery cables and such to larger AWG wires? ;)

Your conclusions are correct. E=IR, Ohm's Law. basic Algebra. Less resistance equates to more current. E is Voltage, I is current and R is resistance.

The ASE guy obviously did not take or failed the Electrical Test.

Tom