• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rattling sound in the tailgate

Shermerrr

NAXJA Forum User
Hi, I'm a complete noob and I have a question. Over the summer I bought a 99 Jeep Cherokee Classic. Lately I've noticed a rattling sound coming from the tailgate. I don't know what it is and was wondering if anyone else has had this problem or knows of a way to fix the rattling sound. Thanks.

exhaust?

could be the exhaust clamp smacking your leaf spring. Do you have a rear wiper motor? If so, they have been known to become loose.

try opening the liftgate and shaking it up and down rapidly that should tell ya if its coming from the door if not look at the exaust right at the back where the tailpipe ends see if its hittin the spring

I don't know about a 99 but on my 86 the 3 torx bolts that hold on the locking mechanism on the lift gate can loosen up causing it to rattle.

i have a similar rattle from the tailgate/hatch area of my 01. it definitly sounds like it's coming from the latch area. i havnt got around to checking mine yet, but that's the first place i'd check.

:piratefla

I also have a rattle in the back somewhere. (98 Classic) Happens over bumps and seems to be coming from the right rear. I've gone over every bolt, checked the jack, spare tire mounting etc, and moved the tailgate up and down quickly to try to find it.

My next move is to get in the back while my buddy drives around...i think i can narrow the location and go from there. Also, what is under the back package storage area? Does the carpet come up?

brak said:
i have a similar rattle from the tailgate/hatch area of my 01. it definitly sounds like it's coming from the latch area. i havnt got around to checking mine yet, but that's the first place i'd check.

:piratefla