• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

stumper for you AW4 experts (yes I searched!)

SLOPAR

NAXJA Forum User
Hey all, newbie here, not to Jeeps just to XJs. I have searched your forum in great detail and performed all of the recomended things to correct my problem with no luck. So here it goes, my 1996 XJ will randomly not shift from first to second (about 50% of the time) unless you tach it up to about 4k. It also rarely shifts into O.D. (about 80% of the time), but then sometimes I get in it, start it up and it cyles right through the gears as if nothing at all is wrong! I have done the following: replaced the TPS with an Echlin, poured in Sea Foam, dropped the pan and changed the filter and fluid (followed by 50 miles, drain pan, add fluid 3X, fluid looks nice and red now), and replaced the TCU (no affect at all). I tried the "manual" test where you unplug the TCU and shift through the gears manualy and it sifts right through fine but still won't engage O.D. I'm at my wits end here with the fact it doesn't do it all the time. I don't have the money to put it in the shop right now so I am hoping you all might be able to let me know if I have overlooked anything. I really appreciate any advice given. Thanks!

Not yet, I was a little afraid to try that. I don't want to risk damaging the plug trying to cram my volt meter down in there. If you think that is where I should be looking next let me know and I will give it a go. Also, I stumbled across a really good write-up on the process to do this with the specs. awhile back but I have not been able to find it since. If you know it please clue me in. Thanks a million!:worship: