• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

A moron's shock/lift dilemma

zambenini

NAXJA Forum User
Newbie here (I know I'm supposed to look at old posts before doing this, I just didn't find what I was looking for, sorry).

Anyway, I have a bone stock '00 XJ. I am looking for about 2" of lift. I heard that if I just get new/different shocks (which I was told by somebody that I need anyway) I can get enough lift just getting those. Is this true?

If this won't help me, what Budget Boosts would you guys recommend? I still can't figure out the pros & cons of the AAL v. shackle debate and I don't wanna spend a lot of cash. I do most of my offroading in a pair of hiking boots or on a mountain bike and this is my get-to-the-trailhead vehicle. Little help?

Feel free to email me at [email protected]

Thanks!
John Z.

The shocks don't provide lift.

Get a 2" bb and run some BPE's to make up some of the distance to run the shocks you have now. RRO sells them for about $45 a set (frnt and rear).

Shakles will lead to premature dearching of the leaf springs. You can run a AAL as long as it's a LONG one and not the shorty ones. That or a set of HD stock leaf packs and a 3/4-1" lift shakle.

I have never heard of new shocks alone lifting any vehicle, A 2" budget lift is about $100ish. That's 2" pucks and either an AAL or Shackles/blocks. AAL's will lift your XJ but non full length ones will wreck your springs. AAL's make your suspension a bit stiff. I have a set of rear waggy springs I want to put on the back of mine and see if there is any lift there.

Budget boost