• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Old Man Emu installation write-up on an 01 (part 1)

dynorockcg

NAXJA Forum User
This is a write-up for the installation of Old Man Emu’s medium duty (2”) lift. It was purchased through Dirk at DPG Off-Road in Rose Hill, Kansas (www.dpgoffroad.com). He gave me great advice along with the info gathered at www.naxja.com. Some products are shipped directly from other companies so they did arrive at different times. The longest shipment time was from OME itself, right at 2 weeks from order date. Other parts came from JKS, DPG themselves, and Rubicon Express. I divided the lift into different sections since I did some disassembly prior to all parts being delivered.

The write-up may seem scattered, but most of the info is here. I was a first-time lift installer and completed it with basic hand tools. I did this write-up simply b/c when I was researching how to install a lift, I had several questions and couldn’t always find answers. I tried to include most sizes of bolts, nuts, allen’s head bolts, and anything else that seemed necessary to complete the installation. I had to make several trips to Sears for a few extra sockets along the way. Hopefully this write-up will result in at least one less trip to Sears/hardware store.
--------------------------------------

As everyone says, spray all nuts and bolts with PB Blaster at least every other day for about a week prior to the lift install. Don’t forget the bolts holding the shocks on under the hood.

-------------------------------
I started with dissembling the front drivers side.

Before: