• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Budget Boost installation

ram360cid

NAXJA Forum User
Well, I decided to install a 2" BB (Rocky Road) on my 1998 XJ. The kit came with spacers for the front, and 1-1/2" shackles and 1/2" blocks for the rear. I started with the rear:

Yesterday....

First, I jacked the left rear up, and took the tire off. Where is this shackle? Remember, I am still new to all this. Finally find the shackle, put the tire back. I start with the top bolt. I look at it, and figure it must have a weld nut on the other side, since there is no access to the other side. Try to loosen it with a wrench. Ain't moving. So I get out the breaker bar and try that (I did spray all the bolts with that stuff you are supposed to spray them with). I try to loosen it and I hear these loud pops as I try to loosen it. I am wondering if the weld nut is loose. Anyway, I persist and all I can say it that was a beeyotch! Then, I try the bottom bolt, and realize I don't have a 21mm deep socket. Run to lowes, home depot and then Sears (they have it). Get home and take the bolt out. Now I have the shackle out. Proceed to put the new shackle in. That was a beyotch also to get in, and to get the springs lined up also. So, I have the shackle in.

The kit came with shock extensions, so I proceed to remove the rear shock. The bottom comes off fine, then I try the top. SNAP, head breaks off first bolt. I am thinking sh*t, this sucks. Don't think about a solution, I move on to the next bolt. SNAP, that one breaks too. ARGH! WTF? I just want to hit something.

I figure I can either drill those out, or rotate the mounting location about 45 degrees . So, I will have to drill and tap new holes.

Today....